Pan’s Labyrinth [Spanish]

Pan's Labyrinth

Pan’s Labyrinth

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Writer: Guillermo del Toro
Stars: Ivana Baquero, Ariadna Gil and Sergi López

Shekar: Merry Christmas and a happy new year. So, it has been close to 2012 years since Christ was born. And, Seems Mayans were wrong !!

Harish: Yep. Mayans were totally wrong about predicting the doom’s day. In a way, it kind of makes me question the kind of reality they were living. What would make them predict such things and that too wrongly…!!

Karthick:  Ha..ha! Predictions apart, we all live in our own realities. I made my brother and a friend of mine watch this film, Pan’s Labyrinth. Nothing makes you happy as much as a honest feedback from your friends when you have suggested a fine movie to them.

I have had many names, I am... I am a Faun

I have had many names, I am… I am a Faun        

Shekar: Absolutely. I think, Pan’s Labyrinth won couple or more oscars and I am sure, one for Art Direction and One for make up.

Harish: Yep. Especially the Faun. This story revolves around the character Ofelia, who was Princess Moanna in the underworld. This movie is about her short stay in earth and how she is guided by a Faun back to her underworld.

EVen Fauns have to eat

Even Fauns have to eat

Karthick: Check out here. They have the site still active and very nicely designed. http://www.panslabyrinth.co.uk/

Ah! The Pale Man

Ah! The Pale Man

Shekar: I am sure, this story would have some parallels and association with philosophy and the socio-political situations of spain back and then..

Karthick: Bingo! Here you go…. This writer points out parallels between this story and the political turmoil and events there of in spain and how church was involved in the same. http://www.traditioninaction.org/movies/011mrPansLabryinth.htm

Harish: And, Fauns are creatures in Roman Mythology and has close reference to ‘Pashun’ in Vedic context. They also refer to ‘Pan‘ in Greek mythology. To me, Faun as the composite Earth with all the five elements, is the guide. A guide for who ever is seeking their reality.

Behind the scenes with Pan and Ofelia

Behind the scenes with Pan and Ofelia

Karthick: Pretty profound I say. And, this movie was deeply inspired by the drawings of the director for over a period of several years. No doubt, it is impossible to otherwise make a movie with such attention to detail. Especially the make up.

Making of the Pale Man

Making of the Pale Man

Shekar: Yes. And, the way he has handled reality and fantasy in parallel by itself demonstrates the scope of this film. Captain Vidal, shines out as the most sadistic villain I have ever seen on screen.

Harish: A common quote about this movie is, ‘It is the `Alice in Wonderland` for adults’…I would say, that is true. Certain scenes that just throw you off completely by its sheer violence and there are certain scenes that will transport you to an alternate reality. Yet director has switched between them so adroitly, we almost feel and believe either reality was as true as each other.

Reality + Fantasy

Reality + Fantasy

Karthick: True, Watching this movie was like dreaming consciously. This movie has lot of interesting trivia. Do check out here – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0457430/trivia

Shekar: Yep. Nothing more has to be said but just this. This movie recieved a 22 minute applause in the Cannes Film Festival.

As Ofelia leaves back to her kingdom

As Ofelia leaves back to her kingdom

Harish: Yep. That sums it all. May this New year bring more prosperity, happiness and such good movies to one and all.

Karthick: My Prayers and Best Wishes

My Best Wishes too

My Best Wishes too !!

 

Leave a comment