Life of Pi

Imdb Link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0454876/

Directed By: Ang Lee

Novel:Life of Pi by Yann Martel

Life of Pi

Shekar: It is a way more profound movie than we can all actually think. There are numerous aspects of the film from story to characters to visuals to philosophy that one can keep on discussing about. I am sure all of us would agree this movie is a sheer technical brilliance and Ang Lee has made a near to impossible idea into visually moving frames. Respect!

Harish: True, I too felt the same. And the internet is littered with technical trivia and philosophies behind this film. So, rather we would like to share just the core idea of the film that moved us all.

Karthick: Agreed. To me, if I have to put it in one sentence, if “Cast Away” reduced human life to survival, this film lifts and extends human survival for a divine cause. The reason behind such a survival is beyond comprehension and yes, at the end, Pi survived. That’s the point.

Harish: Profound indeed. One can try questioning the various reasons for such a survival and fight, but that he survived is the point. And one more finer subtle point is, there is a mutual symbiotic relationship between life and nature. Both give and take. It is balanced. At the end, everything is justified.

Shekar: And the ultimate dialogue, which  I would say, a man is realized when he sees life as an act of letting all go. For you have lost every thing and every one you have ever known, all you are left with is your life, what would you do?

Karthick: That is life of pi. Go watch the film. It reaffirmed my beliefs. I personally believe in the global religion of Sanathana Dharma and universal oneness. Names and Faith can be many, but the truth is one. This film just brings that out perfectly.

Harish: We are free to pick the story we want to but the truth is, Pi survived to prove us the miracle of the omniscient and omnipotent. And, trust, from the bottom of my heart, I would pick the story with the tiger in. What would you choose?

Karthick: Well, And, yes, I don’t mind if Tiger is in, But I would pick the story that would have Anandhi.. I have to admit, I fell in love with Anandhi…what dazzling eyes…My god… am going off to Pondicherry some time soon…!

Shekar: Now then, we can have Life of Karthick soon!

Harish: Well, the genre would be Adventure & Comedy

Karthick: Funny! But yes, remembers me of this quote “God is playing to an audience that is too afraid to laugh

Harish: But I guess, God is closer to those, who can laugh and take things as given by God. Pi did take it that way. Life of Pi is a must watch.

Shekar: Yep! And I think we should keep our reviews this way, Short and original. Catch you next time folks!

Karthick: Yep! Bye

One thought on “Life of Pi

  1. Towards the end, We see Pi’s wife and children return home. I’d like to believe it is Anandhi.

Leave a comment